Every once in a while, I’ll recap some of the shows I caught, to help
you decide what’s worth tuning into and what to skip. To steal a line
from a year-round classic, The Soup, I watch, so you don’t have
to.

Sunday, 10 p.m. on E!: Denise Richards: It’s Complicated
and Living Lohan.
I tried to give E!’s double block of reality about Denise Richards and
the Lohan clan a shot, but I’m going to be 100 percent honest with
you: DON’T WATCH. Putting a pen in your eye would be a better use of
your time. Denise was overly concerned about her possibly pregnant pig
— what? As for the Lohans, if I wanted to watch a trophy watch and
her bratty daughter, I’d go sit in a Hollister for 20 minutes. Which
sounds like my idea of Hell.

Monday, 10 p.m. on ABC: The Mole
You might remember this show as the first time a young silver fox
known as Anderson Cooper landed on our radar, or you may recall one of
its celebrity seasons, but this was my first experience with The Mole.
Yeah, I know I’m not a fan of reality, but I am intrigued by the
premise. I love a good detective story. And, while the new host is no
Coop, he isn’t bad looking. I’ll probably keep going, if only because
I like a game I can play along with.

Tuesday 10 and 11 p.m. on FX: 30 Days
This is one reality show I welcome back with open arms. I wouldn’t
even call it “reality.” More like “televised documentary.” Brought to
you by the same guy who gave us Supersize Me, Morgan Spurlock
comes at his subjects with a lot of curiousity, intelligence and
sensitivity. I thought the episode where a Christian man lived with an
Muslim family was one of the most eye-opening hours of television I’ve
ever seen, except maybe the hour where Morgan and his wife Alexandra
Jamieson lived on minimum wage. The third season opened with Morgan
spending a month working in a coal mine and future episodes include a
man living in a wheelchair and a hunter living with PETA activists.

Wednesday, 10 p.m. on Bravo: Top Chef (and all the other
reality shows on Bravo)
Bravo consistently produce reality shows that are a cut above the
rest, whether they’re cutting fabric on Project Runway, hair on
Shear Genius or tomahawk steaks on Top Chef. The reunion
and finale of Top Chef will run in the following weeks and
Shear Genius will take over that timeslot soon, followed later
by Project Runway. I will stay on my couch, with my TV tuned to
Bravo.

Thursday, 10 p.m. on NBC:
I’ll be honest: at 10 p.m. on Thursdays, I’m double-booked. CBS is
running “Swingtown,” a show about swinging singles in the 1970s at the
same time as NBC’s “Fear Itself.” This week, I opted for “Fear
Itself,” a series comprised of one-hour short horror films each week.
I’m a horror junkie–but not a gore fan–and thought I’d be spared
some of the icky graphic stuff I’ve come to hate. But I’d forgotten
that ER usually runs in that spot, a show I quit watching when a
helicopter chopped off a surgeon’s arm. The first film wasn’t all that
creepy, but I’m looking forward to more of the films. The great thing
about a show like this one, and like 30 Days, is that you can miss an
episode and tune in next week without missing critical plot points. I
haven’t decided if I’ll try to watch “Swingtown,” I’m intrigued by the
premise, but put off by its bad reviews.

Of course, all these plans will go out the window when “Mad Men”
returns in July (don’t forget–the first season is on DVD on July 1,
so you can catch up) or if something better comes along.

The bottom line: Don’t miss 30 Days and Bravo’s reality TV. If
you’re around, you can watch The Mole or Fear Itself.
Skip Swingtown, Living Lohan and It’s
Complicated
.

What have you guys been watching? Are you cheering on the Celtics or the Lakers?

