Seriously. I’ve been wondering about this since I first signed on to do this blog. So today, I finally got up the guts to ask Trixie what the name means. Basically, the answer was, “It sounds cool.” Which is fine with me, actually. But, semantics-obsessed fool that I am, I feel like I have to make our name real. There has to be some intentional play-on-words to it, some deeper meaning, or at the very least, some foothold in the craggy rock face of pop culture.

(UPDATE: Kadinsky just told me her thoughts on the blog name, and it goes’a like this:

ButtercupPunch was kind of a way to say we are sweet and pretteh like buttercups but watch yo ass ‘cuz we packs a mighty punch. Like how Buttercups look nice and all but are deadly if you eat em or whatevs – something like that..”

One of these days we will get a graphic that portrays this better

So, this kind of thwarts my post a little, but I’m not fazed. Keep reading, it gets better.)

I’m going on a quick quest ’round Internetsville to try and find the true meaning of BCP, care to join me? Will you be my neighbor?

A buttercup is a flower. Um, we like flowers because we’re girls? I guess flowers are OK, but I somehow doubt that this site is in any way a trubite to this flaxen member of the Ranunculus genus. Oh, and get a lod of how nasty the buttercup is when eaten: 

“All Ranunculus species are poisonous when eaten fresh by cattle, horses, and other livestock, but their acrid taste and the blistering of the mouth caused by their poison means they are usually left uneaten. Poisoning can occur where buttercups are abundant in overgrazed fields where little other edible plant growth is left, and the animals eat them out of desperation. Symptoms include bloody diarrhea, excessive salivation, colic, and severe blistering of the mucous membranes and gastrointestinal tract. When Ranunculus plants are handled, naturally occurring ranunculin is broken down to form protoanemonin, which is known to cause contact dermatitis in humans and care should therefore be exercised in excessive handling of the plants.”

Fuck that shit, I know I’m a cantankerous bitch, but I don’t want to be likened to some mouth-rotting notorious killer of livestock. Flower angle is a NO.

 

The Google always likes to link to this ugly flatware pattern when searching for Buttercup Punch. And literally here is a Buttercup punch ladle:

So yeah, I guess this Victorian dollhouse theme fits us so well. Yeeeah. It, like, goes with all of the Laura Ashley dresses we wear all the time. Mmmmmm, NO.

 

In keeping with the Victorian vibe, how about some Buttercup Snuff? …. Sounds like we’ve killed someone, you say? OK, scratch that.

 

OK, so Kadinsky’s avatar is the bitchy Powerpuff Girl, Buttercup. That makes sense, yes, and our animated darling and her sisters are known to lay the smack down, so maybe this site is supposed to be a punch from Buttercup? (Uh, except I wouldn’t really call my posting about Karaoke and PM Dawn “hard-hitting,” but whatever.)

 

Oh, and here we have a paper punch supposedly in the shape of a buttercup flower. Um, I don’t really see it. It looks like a cresent moon with a dot over it. Is this some weirdo pagan symbol for fertility or some crap? If one of us turns up pregnant, I’m blaming YOU, sucky hole-in-paper-making device!

 

The truth? I always assumed that my fellow Buttercups’ love of, ahem, illicit substances influenced the name of this site. I’ve been wondering this whole time if BCP was street code for something. Gimme a break, I’m not that swift, y’all.

Well, there’s no time like the present to cook up some new slang, eh? OK, so if anyone wants to know what “Buttercup Punch” means, just tell them it’s the street name for Gleemonex. It’s gonna be huge.

 

Maybe BCP is an actual drink, like a buttered rum punch, only made from inedible poisonous flowers? No, maybe it’s like a buttery nipple shot? Ew. I wouldn’t be caught dead drinking one of those because I used to be a bartender, and the only people who would order buttery nipples were chicks whose names probably were Lolita or Tanqueray.

I’m determined to make a real drink- a frosty, alcoholic libation- we can call our own.

 

Please leave your tips and recipe ideas for a Buttercup Punch in the comments, or you can email buttercuppunch at gmail. It should be strong, a little sweet, and should keep you coming back for more!

