So, I’m here in the UK – at work – while my counterparts in the good ol’ US of A have the day off for parades and fireworks and beer and pool parties and I have to say, I am homesick.  Also, Kadinsky texted me at some point in the middle of the night to say she was 30 feet from Tim McGraw and thinking about that woman who grabbed his balls last year.  So, if she’s languishing in jail this holiday weekend for sexually assaulting a country superstar, I’m going to need one of y’all to bail her out.

I will be having a celebratory after-work drink, but it just doesn’t feel right to not be going to a BBQ or shrouding myself in an American flag, shouting the national anthem, and slurring putdowns about limey imperialist oppressors in the general direction of my British friends.  Of course, it’s only 9:30 am and the day is young.

In the meantime, I took some comfort in this brilliant little video that reminded me of why it’s so great to be an American.  I do love my country, warts and all.  Happy Independence Day, everyone – have a beer for me, because I miss you!

