It’s Friday again, people! If you’re anything like me, you’ve got a bad case of weekend fever, and will use any excuse you can get your hunny-loving paws on to not have to deal with the expense reports, purchasing memos, faxes or whatever else you’re getting paid to do right now. Please, allow me to divert you from your work.

This week’s topic comes to us from Radar magazine and gives us an opportunity to prove we’re not so tough, just because we’re in love with an uptown girl. Yeah, that’s right, we’re gonna talk about Billy Joel. Don’t pretend like you don’t like him, now. But you know, I’m quick to dismiss Billy Joel sometimes, because I guess I kind of dislike the idea of Billy Joel. His latter-day hits like “River of Dreams” and middle-aged nostalgia anthems like “New York State of Mind” (can’t you just imagine Mr. Big from SATC crooning along to that one in his big, black chauffered car? UGH.) are the suck, and I generally hate any man who’s married to a woman young enough to be his daughter. But, it would be really stupid of me to let Billy Joel the person and a few dud songs get in the way of everything the Piano Man has to offer. (Ok wait, I’m not done snarking on BJ the man, if anyone can find a video of that one old SNL sketch of Lindsey Lohan and several other young girls being driven home from a Hamptons party by a very drunk Billy Joel (Horatio Sanz), I’ll give you a gold star) but when looking at his catalogue individually, there’s a lot to love there. So much, in fact, that I’m not sure I can even classify Joel as a “guilty pleasure”, so try not to snicker when “Just the Way You Are” comes up on my iPod.

For those of you (us?) who can overlook “Keepin’ the Faith”:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kehh-zcnKuM

and “River of Dreams”:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uNS4pV9Pls0

Please to discuss your favorite Billy Joel songs in the comments. I’ll start:

My favorite Billy Joel song is “Captain Jack”, because I was really young when I first heard it, too young to know what it was about, but I remember my dad playing it and singing it a lot when I was a kid. Now that I’m grown, I know that that song is really just a depressing wrist-cutter about an ennui-ridden stoned loser. Which is fitting because that’s exactly what my dad is, and I guess the song kind of reminds me of when I was young, oblivious and naive enough to love him anyway. Aaaaah, youth! Speaking of young love, it doesn’t get catchier and more cheese-tastic than “Uptown Girl”. Enjoy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2F-nt7aC_JQ

