I think the following two videos need no introduction. Death Row, guest rapping on each others albums, feuds, summer jams, drink recipes, name-dropping the gun(s) you carry, and plugging condoms totally characterized 90s rap. Yeah, yeah, yeah, calling women “bitches” and “hos” will never win you any medal with me, but at least these dudes had some sense of responsibility when it came to “bustin’ a nut” (*cringe*). I’ve excerpted the lyrics about safe sex if you don’t want to play the viddies at work.

It’s like this & like that & like this and more after the jump…

And before me dig out a bitch I have ta find a contraceptive
You never know she could be earnin her man,
And learnin her man, and at the same time burnin her man
Now you know I aint wit that shit, lieutenant
Aint no pussy good enough to get burnt while Im up in it

I got bitches in the living room gettin it on
and, they ain’t leavin til six in the mornin (six in the mornin)
So what you wanna do, sheeeit
I got a pocket full of rubbers and my homeboys do too

If THAT didn’t convince you of the capacity for rappers to take responsibility, let’s look back on the last days of Eric Lynn Wright, better known as Eazy E, from his wiki:

“In March 1995, Eazy-E admitted himself into Cedars Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles with what he believed at the time was acute bronchitis. Following comprehensive tests, it was discovered that he was suffering from AIDS. He spoke out time and time again that he wasn’t a homosexual and that the disease affects everyone, either straight or gay. He admitted to having 7 children with 6 different women. The illness was found to be in an advanced stage, and his condition deteriorated rapidly. During the week of March 20, already having made amends with Dr. Dre and Ice Cube[3], Eazy-E drafted what would be his last message to his fans:

…I may not seem like a guy that you’d pick to preach a sermon, but I feel it’s now time to ‘testify’ because I do have folks that care about me hearing all kinds of stories about what’s up.

Yeah, I was a brother on the streets of Compton doing a lot of things most people look down on, but it did pay off. Then, we started rapping about real stuff that shook up the LAPD and the F.B.I., but we got our message across big-time and everyone in America started paying attention to the boys in the hood. Soon, our anger and hopes got everyone riled up.

There were great rewards for me personally like fancy cars, gorgeous women and good livin’. Like real non stop excitement. I’m not religious but wrong or right, that’s me. I’m not saying this because I’m looking for a soft cushion wherever I’m heading, I just feel that I’ve got thousands and thousands of young fans that have to learn about what’s real when it comes to AIDS. Like something good that will reach out to all my homeboys and their kin because I want to save their asses before it’s too late. I’m not looking to blame anyone except myself. I’ve learned in the last week that this thing is real and it doesn’t discriminate. It affects everyone.

My girl, Tomika, and I have been together for four years, and we recently got married. She’s good, she’s kind and a wonderful mother. We have a little boy who’s a year old. Before Tomika, I had other women. I have seven children by six different mothers. Maybe success was too good to me. I love all my kids. And I always took care of them.

Now, I’m in the biggest fight of my life and it ain’t easy. But I want to say much love to those who have been down with me and thanks for all your support. Just remember: It’s YOUR real time and YOUR real life .

On March 26, 1995, ten days after being admitted into the hospital, Eric “Eazy-E” Wright died, at the age of 31. Among his survivors were his parents Kathie and Richard Wright, brother Kenneth, and sister Patricia.[2] He was buried at Rose Hills Memorial Park in Whittier, California. [8]

There’s very little I can say that Eazy’s quote doesn’t say for itself, but I’ll just sum up my thoughts on it. In the above message, he was honest with himself, he was honest with his fans, he didn’t try to deny his past or anything he’s done or try to pass the blame. He owns it, and he also owns that he has a responsibility as a famous person to try and spread the word of warning to the people who look up to him. Because honesty and responsibility are not mutually exclusive. That’s all I’ve got to say. Eazy duz it in the comments, y’all!

