BAngieB is offended, y’all.

Remember when we were kids and we would hear oldies songs on TV commercials? Now it’s 80s songs.

Pantene used The GoGo’s “Head Over Heels” and LendingTree.com used The Fixx hit “One Thing Leads to Another.”

Verizon used Foreigner’s “Urgent” (aghhhhh – and that song rocks)

Recently I saw a commercial for a new show on HGTV called “Sleep On It.” Guess what the dude was singing? That’s right “let me sleep on it, baby, baby, let me sleep on it, let me sleep on it, I’ll give you an answer in the morning.”

And this will hurt several of my friends – there is a Pizza Hut commercial for deep dish pizza. The song? “How Deep is Your Love” by The BeeGees. I wanted to give up.

Then I heard the Madness classic “It Must Be Love” on a blue jeans commercial, then it was Sheraton using Pat Benatar’s “We Belong.”

But, now it’s gone too far. A couple of weeks ago, just as I’m drifting off to sleep one night, I hear one of my Top 5 favorite songs come on…I looked at the TV and I was confused. What the hell? That’s a Heineken commercial…and the song playing is “TEMPTED” by SQUEEZE! Then, the next night I saw a commercial for the show “Without A Trace”…THEY ARE PLAYING “PICTURES OF YOU!” Now The Cure has sold out? Is nothing sacred? They only played a snippet, so I can’t tell if it is the original or if it is some asshat mimicking Robert Smith. Not sure which is worse. (I really hate it when someone remakes a song and tries to make it sound like the original version. At least put your own spin on it.)

Seriously, how cute are these guys?

I know this is just a drop in the bucket, but these are the ones that really upset me. I am in denial about Queen and Blondie songs in commercials. Is nothing sacred? And don’t get me started on Target using Beatles’ songs.

*Contributed by BAngieB*
