I have bought some seriously amazing products since arriving here from Canada.
A list:

A pair of sunglasses with bifocals for only $14.99 at Ulta! You young ladies may laugh at this. But let me assure you: by 40 or so, you will no longer be able to read the newspaper or the song titles on your iPod or your text messages. And Ulta, bless it, sells really chic-looking sunglasses with reading glasses built right in! I hadn’t even dreamed such a thing existed! Now, I can look chic while reading my blackberry on the Metro!

Trader Joe’s Pub Cheese. A sharp cheddar spread that is honestly almost too delicious to describe. I have it on crackers or with raw cauliflower and celery almost every night for dinner or for a snack.  I ran out two days ago, and because I couldn’t get to a Trader Joe’s right away, I bought a cheap supermarket substitute. Wrongful. It was nowhere near as good.

Trader Joe’s Tangerine Sugar Scrub. BCP’s beloved SkinnyBoneJones recommended this to me and it’s like crack for the skin. I scrub myself with it three or four times a week and it leaves my skin satiny soft. If you rub your feet with it, it’s as good as a pedicure. And the fragrance is wonderful but delicate, and permeates your skin all day long. I can’t stop smelling myself!

And now some things I miss from home:

A decent liquid cleaner with some grit. In Canada, we have something called Vim. It is creamy yet abrasive at the same time, perfect for tubs and sinks. Here I have had to go with Scrubbing Bubbles, and it’s not nearly as effective at really lifting the grime. Yet Comet or Ajax powder cleansers are too harsh. Suggestions?

Kraft Peanut Butter. Kraft is an American brand so I have never quite figured this out. Kraft PB is so far superior to Skippy or Jif that it’s difficult to explain. It has a denser texture and a far more peanutty taste, and isn’t quite as sweet as American brands.

Taxi cabs. In DC proper, fine. But in the burbs? I have twice waited for more than an hour for a cab to arrive. One time the guy just didn’t bother showing up. I come from a city with a strong cab culture, even in the burbs. The dependence on the car by everyone, from all walks of life, has been a bit of shock. How does everyone afford cars? And why not consider a taxi in order to save money and gas in the long run?

