Contrary to popular belief, I understand people who are not at all into cosmetics. It’s not for everyone, and I’m well aware. I assume the abstainer to be either impervious to pop culture brainwashing, or naturally gorgeous and will look better without all that crap on anyway. Whatever reason someone has for not getting their whole body caught in the bear trap that is the cosmetics industry, I recognize that luck and I envy you. However, some of us really do “need” foundation or mascara or blush or whatever. Right, Eva Longoria?

 

evalongoria

Recognize that I have less than no room to talk. Without makeup on, I look like some kind of Dickensian street urchin.

 


Anyway, even if you’re not into cosmetics, I highly recommend signing up to be a Sephora Beauty Insider. It costs nothing upfront, and your email inbox will be constantly under siege with promo after promo after useless promo. But on the rare occasion when SBI actually decides to cut you a legitimate deal, it is sooooo worth wading through months of junkmail: 

 

sephora-15

 

 

See what I mean? $15 off a $35 purchase is pretty good. So, while YOU may not be into cosmetics, there is likely no shortage of people in your world whose lives could be changed forever by Clinique All About Eyes concealer. Maybe your mom, sister, girlfriend (romantic or platonic), favorite office lady, or female Secret Santa victim could reap the benefits of your SBI status this Holiday season. Let’s say you get somebody something rad like the Carol’s Daughter Shea Souffle’ giftset (orig $35), which makes you look like the most generous giver-of-luxurious-gifts person, and with this coupon, you’re only out $20. Whee! Or, you know, if you’re like me and actually want to buy cosmetics for yourself, this does take a bit of the sting out of frivolous spending during the worst financial crisis of our time. Siiiigh. Happy shopping.

Liked this post? Well, trust that there will be so much more Ho-ho-whoring here on BCP in the days to come. My email inbox is overflowing with great deals, but if you hear of any before I do, send ’em in to the Buttercup email. Smootches!
