Things continue to be tense. Now she is even getting on my ex’s nerves. We drove downtown to go to the various memorials this morning and despite the fact that she has never driven a car in her life and has never been to Washington, she started barking orders from the back seat.

“Turn left at S street,” I tell my ex.

“KEN!!! KEN!!!!!! TURN LEFT AT S STREET! AT S STREET KEN!!!!”

He trembles in annoyance as I pretend not to hear her.

“So go along here til you get to 6th Avenue, then hang a right.”

“KEN!!!!! KEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS 6TH COMING UP!!!! TURN RIGHT!!!!! TURN RIGHT!!!!!!”

He flinches and grimaces.

“And 6th ends at Constitution Avenue, so you just hang a right when we get to Constitution.”

“SIXTH STREET TURNS INTO CONSTITUTION AVENUE, KEN, DID YOU HEAR THAT????? TURN  RIGHT AT CONSTITUTION AVENUE!!!!!!!”

My daughter finally snaps.

“Nanny! My mom is giving him directions. She lives here. Why are you yelling out everything she’s already told him?”

“Well, I’M JUST TRYING TO HELP!!!! DON’T YOU START IN ON ME TOO, FOR CHRIST’S SAKE!!!!”

My daughter, in fact, is being short with her. I can tell this is bugging my mother’s ass, who will not have anyone under 21 standing up for themselves. Who the hell does anyone who’s either a child or a teenager think they are by mouthing back to her? The nasty has emerged and it’s being increasingly directed at her nag-weary 18-year-old grand-daughter. No, Hagatha will not for one minute ask herself: “Could my obnoxious behavior be annoying this family? Should I perhaps zip it and leave everyone alone?”

It took five minutes after the Bitch Comment Smackdown of Christmas Day before Hagatha was acting in exactly the manner that lead to yesterday’s brouhaha in the first place. Nagging, cajoling, walking in on people while they’re napping to ask them where she should put the sock of theirs she found in the bathroom, barking orders, interrupting to state her ever-sneering opinion on matters that have nothing to do with her (including my ex’s parents’ plans for New Year’s Day), reminding us of her dislike for Asians, etc etc.

She leaves tomorrow. I am putting her in a cab and saying have a nice trip and I am never, ever doing this again.

