Oh hi there. Sorry I’ve been out of touch. I’m a bit bagged, you see. I have a new arrival in my home and the poor little thing has been keeping me up at night. I’ve let her in my bed — never a good idea — and even climbed into bed with her to try to help her sleep and to ease her discomfort. What’s that, you say? No, it’s not a tiny baby. IT’S A SIXTY-POUND HOUND DOG.

Yes, Dolly is ill. We’re not sure yet what’s going on. It seems like a cold; she is very stuffed up, unable to breathe through her nose, etc. But now her ailment is taking a menacing turn, with repeated nosebleeds. Nosebleeds in dogs are rarely a good sign.

In any event, for the past 10 days or so, the poor dog has suffered. Always a champion sleeper, she is now up every hour or so wandering the house snorting and snuffling and sneezing loudly. Last night, she was spraying blood from her nose in something that was akin to a horror movie. I ran around the house chasing her, her face in a weird Joker grimace as she breathed through her mouth and I mopped up blood. My son was scared. The cats were enthralled. Dolly, ever polite, sweetly wagged her tail as I cleaned her up and the cats came close to check her out. After I calmed everyone down,  I slept fitfully with her in the spare bed, weepy because I fear the worst. Google “canine nosebleeds” and you’ll see why.

In any event, I haven’t been this bagged since I brought home a new baby.

Today we walked to the vet’s again and they did a bunch of tests and gave me nosedrops and an antibiotic for her in case it’s an infection, though there is no fever so it’s not pointing to a bacterial infection. She’s only had two doses of the penicillin so far, but she’s still snorting and snuffling and having trouble breathing. The nose drops don’t seem to be helping. So, yes, I am hoping for the best, but preparing for the worst. And while I might have thought it would be funny to see a hound dog walking around with a big snot bubble the size of a golf ball wheezing in and out of her nose, now it is depressing the hell out of me. The cats, however, remain fascinated.

 

