This video has been getting a lot of attention recently, and for good reason.  (Although not because it’s narrated by Annie Lennox, as I mistakenly thought when I first saw it).  Annie Leonard breaks it down for you in 8 minutes – all the ways we are duped into buying what we think is cleaner, more exotic water.  I admit, I bought bottled water for a few years when pop culture told me to, but it really didn’t take long to see a whole lot of money was being spent for……..WATER.  I’m a bit of clean freak, so it never made sense to me that my tap water was good enough for cleaning but not for drinking?  When I lived in Milwaukee, the tap water was good – it actually tasted better than bottled and we drank it happily for the last 4 years and saved a bundle of money.  Sure, there were little floaty bits in the glass when the ice melted, but they didn’t hurt me none.  The tap water here in Vegas is fine as well, and since there is a filter on the fridge, there are no floaty bits in the ice.  I travel quite a bit so I make a habit of trying the tap water in different cities, and really the only two places in recent memory where I can say I didn’t like the smell/taste of the water would be Boston and Houston.  Boston water is soft as hell AND it added an extra 30 minutes to my hair time every morning.  Houston water (which I grew up with) is a little hard and smells like chlorine, I was stocking those 3 gallon Sparklettes bottles in my kitchen for years.  But if I was moving back there today I would definitely stick a water filter on the tap and call it a day.

